Coordinators

Water Action Volunteers in the field

Watershed Education Resource Center Locations


Below you will find contact information for WERCs around the state. Use the map to get an idea of where the centers are located, then look below the map to find the contact information for the WERC based on the number in the star.

WERC map

Contacts for Watershed Education Resource Centers (listed by basin):

Lake Superior Basin

Sue O'Halloran
1. Northern WI WERC
McCaskil 143A
1800 Grand Avenue
Superior WI 54880
Phone: 715.394.8525
SOHallor@uwsuper.edu

St. Croix Basin

Aleisha Miller
2. St. Croix County LWCD
1960 8th Avenue, Suite 141
Baldwin WI 54002
Phone: 715.531.1915
Aleisha.Miller@co.saint-croix.wi.us

Upper Chippewa Basin

3. DNR Service Center
Park Falls, WI
Phone: 715.762.0036

Upper Green Bay Basin

Anne Bartels
4. Teaching Outdoor Awareness and Discovery (T.O.A.D)
Marinette County LWCD
1926 Hall Avenue
Marinette WI 54143
Phone: 715.732.7784
ABartels@marinettecounty.com

Lakeshore Basin

Coggin Heeringa
5. Crossroads at Big Creek Historical and Environmental Learning Preserve
The intersection of Hwy 42/57 and Michigan
Sturgeon Bay WI 54235
Phone: 920.746.5895
coggin_heeringa@yahoo.com

Jim Knickelbine
6. Woodland Dunes Nature Center
PO Box 486
3000 Hawthorne (HWY 310)
Two Rivers, WI 54241
Phone: 920.793.4007
nature@woodlanddunes.org

Wendy Lutzke
7. Wisconsin Maritime Museum
75 Maritime Drive
Manitowoc, WI 54220
Phone: 1.866.724.2356 X 115
wlutzke@WisconsinMaritime.org

Fox-Wolf Basin

Heather Weigelt
8. Heckrodt Wetland Reserve
PO Box 554
1305 Plank Road
Menasha WI 54952
Phone: 920.720.9349
heatherw@heckrodtwetland.org

Tim Ewing
9. Navarino Nature Center
W5646 Lindsten Road
Shiocton WI 54170
Phone: 715.758.6999
nnc1@tds.net

Central Wisconsin Basin

Ron MacDonald
10. Isaak Walton League
Hwy 66
Stevens Point WI 54481
olly2silas@att.net

Lower Chippewa Basin

Jeanette Kelly
11. Beaver Creek Citizen Science Center
S 1 County Road K
Fall Creek WI 54742
Phone: 715.877.2212
anna@beavercreekreserve.org

Black-Buaffalo-Trempeleau Basin

Randy Mell
12. 115 5th Ave South, Suite 502
LaCrosse, WI 54601
Phone: 608.782.4590
randy.mell@ces.uwex.edu




Sheboygan Basin

Rebecca Clarke
13. Maywood Environmental Park
1615 Mueller Road
Sheboygan WI 53083
Phone: 920.459.3906
rclarke@ci.sheboygan.wi.us

Milwaukee Basin

Mary Holleback
14. Riveredge Nature Center
4458 West Hawthorne Drive
PO Box 26
Newberg WI 53060
Phone: 262.375.2715
maryh@riveredge.us

Cheryl Nenn and Joe Rath
15. Milwaukee Riverkeeper
1845 N. Farwell Avenue, Suite 100
Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone: 414.287.0207 x 229

Derek Strohl
16. Bureau of Land Management, Northeastern States Field Office
626 E. Wisconsin Ave., Suite 200
Milwaukee, WI 53202-4617
Phone: 414.297.4416
derek_strohl@blm.gov

Rock, Southeast Fox, & Milwaukee Basins

Larry Kascht
17. Retzer Nature Center
S14 W28167 Madison St.
Waukesha, WI 53188
Phone: 262.896.8007

Rock Basin

Nancy Sheehan
18. Rock River Coalition
864 Collins Road
Jefferson WI 53549
Phone: 608-233-7758 (h/o)
Phone: 608-515-9434 (cell)
nancy@rockrivercoalition.org

Anne Miller
19. Rock County Land Conservation Department
440  N US Hwy 14
Janesville, WI  53546
Phone: 608-754-6617 ext. 3
amiller@co.rock.wi.us 

Lena Verkuilen
20. Welty Environmental Center
8606 W. County Rd. H
Beloit WI 53511
Phone: 608.361.1377
info@weltycenter.org

21.Now in two locations!new

Mindy Habecker
Dane County UW-Extension
5201 Fen Oak Court
Madison WI 53718-8812
Phone: 608.224.3718
melinda.habecker@ces.uwex.edu

Terri Felton
Naturalist Program Coordinator
Dane County Parks, Capital Springs Recreation Area
3101 Lake Farm Rd, Madison
Phone: 608-224-3606
felton.terri@countyofdane.com

Lower Wisconsin Basin

Catherine Woodward
22. Mazomanie Science Outreach Outpost
2nd floor of the Mazomanie Elementary School
314 Anne St
Mazomanie, WI 53560-9350
Phone: 608.265.9065
cwoodwar@wisc-edu

Grant-Platte-Sugar- Pecatonica Basin

Peggy Compton
23. Southwest WI Water Education Library
258 Gardner Hall
1 University Plaza
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Platteville, WI 53818
Phone: 608.342.1633
peggy.compton@ces.uwex.edu

Southeast Wisconsin - IL Fox Basin

Valerie Mann
24. Pringle Nature Centernew
9800 160th Ave
Bristol, WI 53104
Phone: 262.857.8008
naturalist@pringlenc.org

 

 





© 2007 by the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System, UW-Extension provides equal opportunities in employment and programming, including Title IX requirements. UW-Extension programs are open to all persons without regard to race, color, ethnic background, or economic circumstances. All rights reserved.
Citizen Water Monitoring Network Home l Contact l UWEX Water Resources l Wisconsin DNR | Citizen Monitoring Network